PC DOSBOX versus WINUAE

• zelig1965
  • zelig1965's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
13 years 5 months ago #96397 by zelig1965
PC DOSBOX versus WINUAE was created by zelig1965
Hi. I am very new to modulation although I am a veteran SWOS fan :) I was wondering what the various benefits of the PC DOSBOX version are versus the Amiga emulation on WINUAE. From what I have experienced so far it seems that the graphics and even controls are better on the WINUAE but perhaps it is easier to edit on the DOSBOX version. I am trying both and wondered what some of you experts think are the benefits of one versus the other. I also see a lot of posts regarding crashes after the end of a season in career mode. is there an update or version that avoids this? There are so many interesting posts on these boards it will take me a very long time to get through them all so aplogies if these questions are answered elsewhere.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 years 5 months ago - 13 years 5 months ago #96399 by Synchronated
Crashes only happen if you ve edited the team data files and done something wrong.
(edit: that s the case for both versions)

I personally prefer the Amiga version, and in addition to that, WinUAE runs much smoother than dosbox SWOS on my machine (WinUAE is perfect emulation of A1200 setup). The PC version is also good if you can get it running smoothly though.

The Amiga version is tougher, higher-resolution and has better sound (the last one is subjective but I need that THUD when the ball hits the keeper/post :) ). It s also playable online.

• zelig1965
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
13 years 5 months ago #96401 by zelig1965
Replied by zelig1965 on topic Re: PC DOSBOX versus WINUAE