SEGA Mega Drive/Genesis Sensible Soccer - Mod Projects/Hex Editing

More
1 year 2 months ago #146424 by Jubigala10
Hi all,

I've recently decided to pursue a mod project for the SEGA Mega Drive/Genesis version of Sensible Soccer that I'm playing on GENS Emulator.

I'm not aware of any programs that change squads or kits outside of the game, and there is the 20 team editing limit which is a pain.

If anyone would like to collaborate on projects aimed at modding the data, please let me know. I have been modding games since 2003, and recently moved onto rom hacks for my own use.

I will aim to hex edit the game text for now, but that's as far as I've got without other programs known to me.

Jubigala10

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 year 2 months ago #146453 by lukasroar
Hello!

Please keep us updated with this project, i'm a massive fan of the Mega Drive/Genesis version and being able to edit the game's base data/info has been a dream of mine for many many years.

I'd absolutely love to collaborate but i know nothing of modding games :( but have plenty of ideas on what i'd like to change/edit.

I love editing this version and have spent countless hours doing it. It's nice that you confirmed there's a 20 team editing limit, something I've often wondered about. I have a few other questions if you wouldn't mind answering them? Feel free to DM.

Thanks

P.S. if you fancy reading about just how passionate I am about the mega drive version, please feel free to read my article below
medium.com/p/2b155002d478

More
1 year 2 months ago #146454 by Jubigala10
I've been able to add 20 teams on the European version - The FA Carling Premiership 96/97.

It seems to be stable on the save state method - you basically load the .bin file I've made with the hex edits, then you load the .GS0 file which seems to load a save state for edited teams. I'm hoping that allows for a full, stable edit of each team.